our council

Elected Members

Elected Members

The Victoria Daly Regional Council (“the Council”) has five elected members, one from each of our Wards. Councillors are elected for a term of four years, following the elections the Councillors will select a Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

The Council holds Ordinary Council Meetings every month in the Katherine Regional Office. These are open to the public to attend, excluding confidential business. All Agendas and Minutes are available on the Council’s web site at www.victoriadaly.nt.gov.au.

The role of a Councillor is to represent a specific area within the Victoria Daly region and ensure the good governance of their electoral area. Councillors attend Community meetings, Local Authority meetings and meet with community members regarding their concerns on local issues.

Besides fulfilling the role of Councillor, there are extra duties and added responsibilities for the Mayor. The role of the Mayor is to represent Council in:

  • Chairing Council and Committee meetings.
  • Representing Council at Civic receptions and Government functions.
  • Media representation.

The Council has a strong commitment to open and accountable governance. The role and conduct of elected members is established in the Local Government Act. Sections of the Act set out what is deemed to be appropriate behaviour for Councillors and the sanctions for a breach of the Act. The Act is further reinforced by the Council’s Code of Conduct. This document sets out the principles that guide Council’s Operations and Policies.

  • Councillors are to act with integrity when conducting business of local government.
  • Demonstrate appropriate use of information.
  • Represent the interests of all community members.
  • Carry out statutory obligations.

Mayor Brian Pedwell

Mayor Brian Pedwell

Mayor Pedwell was re-elected Mayor of VDRC in the 2021Council elections. Mayor Pedwell is from Yarralin, and represents the Walangeri Ward which encompasses Yarralin, Pigeon Hole, Lingarra and surrounding pastoral properties.

Deputy Mayor Andrew McTaggart

Deputy Mayor Andrew McTaggart

Deputy Mayor McTaggart is from Nauiyu and represents the Milngin Ward, an area encompassing Daly River, Nauiyu, Wooliana, as well as a number of pastoral properties, farms and roadhouses.

Councillor Georgina Macleod

Councillor Georgina Macleod

Georgina is from Kalkarindji and represents the Kalkarindji – Daguragu Ward.  


Councillor Shirley Garlett

Councillor Shirley Garlett

Shirley is from Timber Creek and represents the Timber Creek Ward which encompasses Timber Creek, Bulla, Amanbidji, and surrounding remote communities and pastoral stations.

Councillor Yvette Williams

Councillor Yvette Williams

Yvette is from Pine Creek and represents the Pine Creek Ward, an area encompassing Pine Creek, Kybrook Farm, and a number of roadhouses and pastoral properties.

Elected Member Remuneration Guidelines and 2021 Election Material 

Council Member Allowances for 2022-23
1 29 downloads
Elected Member Remuneration Guidelines March 18, 2022
Elected member allowance 2021-22
1 48 downloads
Elected Member Remuneration Guidelines June 10, 2021

    Elections and Reviews


    Elections for Council are held every four years. The results of past elections are available on the website of the Northern Territory Electoral Commission.

    Representation Reviews

    Section 23 of the Local Government Act requires Council to, at least once in each term, carry out an assessment of the adequacy of its constitutional arrangements and whether they provide the most effective possible representation for the Council’s area.


    29 Crawford Street,
    Katherine East NT 0850

    Postal Address

    PO Box 19, Katherine NT 0851

    Further Enquiries Regarding Recruitment

    Ph: 0448 788 498

    Dheran Young comes to Pine Creek

    Come down to Katherine Town Square to see the best of the Big Rivers region on the big screen. Light refreshments will be provided. 


    When: Friday 16 Semptember, 7:30am - 9:30am.

    Where: Heritage Park, Pine Creek

    Dingo Cup

    Come and test out your cricket skills at Timber Creek's annual community cricket carnival, the Dingo Cup.
    Register your team of six at ntcricket.com.au, or call 89448900.

    When: 15 - 16 October 2022 
    Address: Timber Creek